Last Day, Week One!

Well, last evening we had a really interesting presentation about ethics by Dr. Susan Ryan, one of the two lead archaeologists for our Basketmaker Community Project.  Even though the focus was on U.S. laws, it was very interesting and comparable in many ways to Canadian laws though not necessarily a similar process.  (For West Wing fans, you may remember the Antiquities Law of  1906 which enabled President Bartlett to create Big Sky National Park in Montana and do an end run around the senator who wanted to attach an amendment to an important bill which would allow free range in that area.)  Anyway, there was some interesting discussion and a lot of food for thought.

This morning, we were out at the dig bright and early and you can see the difference in my section of the great kiva now that those rocks are missing.

Image

I scraped down a little to help expose a bit more of the rock you can see between my section and the one to the left.  I found a small piece (shard) of pottery this morning and the fellow working the patch right behind me, Carl, found a charred post for a beam as well as several other nice pieces of pottery.  This was my first real full day of digging as yesterday we missed almost an hour of the hottest part of the day going to Hansen’s Pueblo and last Tuesday, I spent the first half of the day doing the geo-sensing.  I found the afternoon wore me down a bit so next week on my dig days (which will be most days, as I have already done some of the introduction sessions the new arrivals will be doing) I will be taking a 2nd water bottle with either water or iced tea or a cold can of Coke for a shot of caffeine to get me through the afternoon.  We will have fewer people next week as this week was an exceptionally large group which also meant that a great deal was accomplished.  Here are some photos showing the items found today/this week.

Tonight, before dinner, we had a wrap-up of the week and everyone was given a special BCP pin and a group photo which was taken Wed. when we were all in clean clothes because we were working in the lab rather than digging.  So here are some photos of people I worked with this week.  Hope you’re enjoying my blog.  Ms. M, on the road in Crow Canyon.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, Earthwatch, retirement, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

