Costa Rica Update April 13/17

Hi all.  A little late this week with the update but I wanted to tell you about the conference call the team members and leaders had last night.  Pretty amazing.  There must have been more than 20 people on the call and we all got to introduce ourselves and tell what we were most looking forward to on our mission trip.  For many, like myself, it was the opportunity to see the faces of the children as they open their Christmas shoeboxes and to sense their excitement.  None of us can quite grasp how close we are to flight time.

The co-ordinator for the mission moderated the session.  We got a lot of great tips about packing, more info about our itinerary, currency exchange, and many questions were answered.  Some of us will be rejigging our packing lists.  We had a brief devotional based on Philippians 2:12-18 about how we are doing this to honour the Lord and leaning on Him as many of us will be stepping outside our comfort zones as He has called us to serve in this unique mission field.  I think what surprised me the most was learning that some of our visits may only consist of maybe 30 or 40 children while others may have 2 or 3 hundred children involved!

I’m a bit dismayed at the weather forecast for Nicoya for the first few days of our trip.  It’s calling for thunderstorms.  Even if it only rains for a small part of the day, it may be a bit wet for playing soccer or frisbee with the children.  I guess those may be days for indoor crafts and music.  I do have a lightweight rain jacket so maybe it won’t rain after all.

The main thing is how excited everyone is.  I usually appear fairly calm on the outside but inside my heart is thumping and my mind is going in 18 different directions.  I am notorious for forgetting things I wanted to pack so that is a real prayer concern for me.  (One March Break I went down to visit my parents and when I got there and opened my trunk there was no suitcase; I only had the clothes I was standing up in.)  The other major concern for me is transitioning to the connecting flight in Toronto as there is only a little more than an hour between arriving from Ottawa and taking off to Costa Rica.  Same airline so our luggage should go through all right but please be in prayer about this in particular.  Only one more Countdown blog post until we leave.  Can hardly believe it — 6 days to go!  Thank you all for your prayer support and —

hasta la vista!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in mission trip, retirement, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

