Costa Rica Here I Come

Well, I’m dusting off my dig hat and unpacking my Tilley vest but this time it’s not an archaeological dig I’m going to — it’s a mission to Costa Rica with Operation Christmas Child.  This is a mission that brings gifts of hygiene products, school supplies and toys to children in 13 developing nations where, for most of the children, it’s the first time they’ve ever received a gift.  In 2016, over 11.5 million shoe boxes were collected (more than 660,000 from Canadians) and large numbers of volunteers have been sorting them out to be delivered to villages in Central America, Africa, and Eastern Europe.  The logistics of such an undertaking boggles my mind.

Now, more volunteers are needed to help deliver these boxes to the children and I have been accepted to travel to Costa Rica as part of the team that will be meeting the children and seeing first hand how lives are impacted by these amazing gifts from Canadians who care. This is so exciting for me and is what I hope will be the first of many such trips.  I will need to raise $3500.00 (CD) in the next month and I’m more than halfway there but would appreciate any support my readers would like to contribute.  Operation Christmas Child is part of the Samaritan’s Purse Canada, part of the Billy Graham ministries, Franklin Graham, CEO.  This is NOT a political operation — it is a mission of mercy.  If you want to learn more about Operation Christmas Child, here is a video you can watch:

If you would like to contribute to my fund-raising, here is the link and all contributions will be tax-receipted.  I call my page Operation Meet the Children because I want to see their faces when they open their boxes and use their gifts.

Thank you for considering sponsoring me, please pray for the mission, and look back here for updates and posts about the trip which is from April 19th to 26th.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in mission trip, retirement, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Costa Rica Here I Come

  1. mysm2000 says:

    Reblogged this on Ms M's Bookshelf and commented:

    Something a bit different for my Sunday Reblog. This is a post from my other blog, On The Road with Ms M. It is about my upcoming trip to Costa Rica to bring gifts to children living in poverty to improve their health, education, and joy. Read all about it.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

