Going But Not Far

Next Folding Bicycle

Next Folding Bicycle

While I won’t go far travelling this way, it will help me keep fit for my next dig.  I’ve had this bicycle for several years but hadn’t used it at all between the first year I bought it and this summer.  The second year I had it, my arthritis started acting up in my knees.  I was able to get that under control with medication, but the next few years I really didn’t have time for the bike.

Since I’m short and have a bit of difficulty sometimes with my balance, it’s a perfect bike for me.  When I brought it up from the basement last month, both tires had gone flat.  I tried the little pump I had bought especially for it the first year (because it fit nicely into my little carrier bag) but I couldn’t get the pump to attach.  Undeterred, I went to the garage and brought in the one I had used with my old bike, a tall pump with a gauge on it.  It wouldn’t attach either.  As you can see, the wheels are quite small and there’s not a lot of space to hook a pump onto the valve.  So, off I went to Walmart (where i had bought the bike) and came back with a second little pump that came with an adapter for different valve sizes.  Nope!  Didn’t work.

2014-06-04 11.56.15Still determined, the next day I folded the bike (yes! it folds in half quite neatly making it very easy to store) and put it in my trunk.  Off I went to a bicycle specialty shop.  The young man there was very nice.  He came to the car and looked at it, took it out, unfolded it, wheeled it inside, grabbed a pump from the wall that had a neat little flexible tube (that hides inside when not in use and screws right onto the valve), and pumped up my tires.  He topped it off with the store’s air supply (just like at the gas station) and I was ready to go!  Because I’m actually much lighter and more fit than I was when I bought the bike, I’m finding it easier to get back in the saddle again.  I’ve had it out twice for rides of about 20 – 30 minutes, uphill and down, on the sidewalk and on the bike path, and you can just call me easy rider.  At the end of biking season, I’ll hang it on the wall so the tires don’t go flat.  This is a great little bike and so is the pump.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Health, retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

