New Dig

Well, I’ve been involved for the last few days in a dig.  A different kind of dig.  In my backyard.  My whole yard is weeds and I’ve been removing them one at a time.  I’ve been at it for an average of 5 hours a day for the last 4 days.  I’m not quite done.  I don’t really expect to learn more about any particular civilization except that obviously my condo corporation hasn’t been paying for spraying for the past several years, mine not being the only lawn in this condition.  And if all the common areas aren’t sprayed soon, all my work will have been in vain.  However, speaking of digging to learn about civilizations, I found a pair of tweezers in the yard.  I’ve heard of people who have a manicured lawn.  You don’t suppose . . .?

Naah, probably not!  If the rain holds off tomorrow, though, I might get the last of the weeds out, grass seed down, and a bit of topsoil over it all.  Wish me luck!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in gardening, retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Dig

  1. Lawns are prettier when they’re full of daisies :)

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

