Happy New Year!

A little late!  I can’t believe we’re a month and a half into the new year!  From the lack of postings here, I’m sure you’ve assumed I’ve been very busy and you’d be right!  I’ve been working more on organizing and down-sizing in my home, trying to get it ready to go up for sale.  Although I may be changing my mind about that, I’m going ahead as if I will put it up for sale otherwise I won’t do the work.  Changed my mind about my kitchen floor.  I decided that cork, click flooring wasn’t such a good idea.  I got rid of it, went to a flooring store, bought new vinyl (on sale and not too expensive) and someone came this week and laid it for me.  I’ve done the toe kicks and am ready to start the baseboards and quarter round.  I’ve begun cleaning and rearranging the furniture in the den (rearranging is how I clean best) and am adding the quarter round as I go.  It will have to be painted but that will be done another time as I’m having company in 2 weeks and all must be ready.  There is still much to do.  A lot has gone into recycle, Salvation Army, and Value Village.  Some to garbage but not too much.  I’ve been posting things on Kijiji and have done alright so far.  Every little bit counts — both financially and down-sizing.

My dieting has been so successful that I’m wearing belts with my pre-Christmas clothing and I’m a bit worried about the clothes I bought last summer but will deal with that when summer comes!  (If it comes!!!  Very cold and tons of snow here in Ottawa!)  It’s not that I’ve lost that much more weight.  I’m about the same as I was in August and am managing to maintain but I’ve been working out to get rid of the flab and it works!  I’m trying not to lose any more weight and where I am now, I can eat out and be back at my target weight within a couple of days and in the meantime, I don’t feel uncomfortable in my clothes.  It’s a very satisfying feeling.

Along with the weight loss, I’ve dropped a half shoe size. My new shoes all have heels which I never wore to school; I was almost always in running shoes.  (When you’re teaching gym every day . . .)  I like the extra height (I’m only 5’2″) and it actually helps me stand up straighter.  No spike heels for me, though; pumps, wedges, and block heels are easier and better.  I’m enjoying purchasing them online.  I get free shipping to Ogdensburg and if they don’t fit, it’s free shipping back.  I’ve only sent 2 pair back; all the others have been soooo comfortable and they go really well with my new outfits.  I especially like ankle booties with a nice block heel.  Great stores to buy from are DSW (Designer Shoe Warehouse) and ShoeMall.  They have really reduced prices and include a return form and label in the box to make things really simple and easy.

There’s a ladies Bible study group at the church (Metropolitan Bible Church) called Woman 2 Woman that meets on Wed. mornings.  I’ve had my eye on going for years but had to wait until I retired.  It is quite amazing.  Between 100 and 150 women show up in the gym every week.  There’s a bit of a social time followed by a worship song time, prayer, and then a speaker to lead us through Ephesians for 15 weeks.  After the speaker, there is discussion in our groups with 2 co-leaders.  Questions and outlines are provided along with a prayer list so we can uphold those among us who have needs and cares:  job-hunting, care-giving for a spouse, illness, housing, etc.  It is very powerful and a great opportunity to get to know and support other women in the church as it’s hard to get close to people when there are over 1000 people attending each of 3 services on a Sunday morning.  If you’re in the Ottawa area and are looking for a dynamic, outgoing church family, try the Met!

I’ve been wearing my new duds to the NAC (National Art Center) and have continued to attend various concerts and ballets with friends.  The Shen Yun was fabulous as was Swan Lake last Saturday night.  Also thoroughly enjoyed the Legendary Singer/Songwriter concert with the multi-talented Michael Cavanaugh a couple of weeks ago and am looking forward to the Denzal Sinclair jazz evening entitled the Nat King Cole Songbook.  My sister and cousin are going with me for a girls night out.  It’s very relaxing to eat at Le Café at the NAC before the show and just make it a thoroughly enjoyable evening.  I’ve posted some reviews on TicketMaster’s site this month.  More about the restaurant and the events to come on other pages.

I promised a page about some of the neat people I’ve met on my travels and will do that very soon.  Got to run for now!

Shen Yun Dancers

Shen Yun Dancers

WarriorDancers

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in home, organization, retirement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. vickie says:

    happy new year to you too Lorraine! you’ve been busy. Congrats on maintaining your weight loss–it’s so hard to do!

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

