Holidays!!

I guess, strictly speaking, when you’re retired you’re already on holiday.  However, there is that space at home when you’re working between trips that is not exactly a holiday — just a change of work venue.

Since getting back from Rapa Nui (Easter Island — I don’t call it that anymore because the native people of Rapa Nui call it and themselves Rapa Nui, Easter Island being the name given it by Europeans) I have been extremely busy.  I only had from late the Sunday evening until Friday morning to: pick up Budge, then drop him at his new place while I’m in Dundas, shop, do laundry, buy a new travel alarm (mine lost a hand in Colorado), see Handel’s Messiah at the NAC, attend a party, drop off treats to my former colleagues at Dunlop PS, and repack to come to my Dad’s place.  Whew!!  Got it all done!!

Stopped in Ogdensburg on the way to southern Ontario to pick up parcels and do a bit of shopping.  The drive was pretty good except, being late leaving, I ended up driving in very dark, snowy conditions and took a break for dinner before getting up to the 407.  By then, most of the route was well lit and I arrived safe and sound by 8:30 p.m.  It was a good job I didn’t wait to come Saturday as the biggest snowstorm of the last 25 years hit southern Ontario.  We lost power only briefly, twice; we were the lucky ones.  Georgetown, Toronto, and many other areas had huge trees down on power lines and many were days without power and in shelters for Christmas dinner.

Dad is now in a lovely retirement home from which he can see his old condo and not have a huge hill to go down in his scooter.  He had a canopy put on his scooter but this weather is too cold even with the canopy so the scooter is parked in its new basement.  Amica of Dundas is beautiful.  Dad has a 2-bedroom and 2-bathroom.  The halls are wide and bright with a handrail down one side of each hallway.  There is a great games room/pub (already booked for his 100th birthday), well-equipped fitness room, hot pool (with whirlpool jets), amazing menus, beautiful theatre, and friendly helpful staff.  Dad has caught on to the routines pretty well and we’ve been very busy this holiday season.

We had visitors the first couple of days I was here, decorated a tree, and watched a couple of movies in the theatre.  Christmas Day, my sister and her husband and my brother and his wife joined us in the dinning room for Christmas dinner.  We spent a lot of time opening gifts and laughing about Christmases past and Dad’s current great grandchildren, and playing games in the Pub on the main floor.  He got a wonderful picture of my sister’s 5 grandkids taken when they were together in the summer and a new swim suit to enjoy his new pool.

Boxing Day, we headed off to my brother’s place along with his inlaws and had a great time catching up, opening presents, and dinning on a scrumptious feast.  Yesterday, Dad and I drove to Cambridge to see a cousin and catch up with what’s happening on her side of the family.  She, too, is in a retirement home and enjoying all the amenities.  It was a beautiful day for the drive; the sun was shining, the ice on the trees and snow in the fields were sparkling, and it was a mild day with clear roads.  It’s funny how every place I go is beautiful in its own way.

Today we have more family get-togethers and it will be another full day.  Church & brunch tomorrow.  New Year’s Eve is my brother’s birthday so we will have a special luncheon for that.  Heading home on New Year’s Day where I am looking forward to getting some work done around the house, cleaning out more school books, and reacquainting with my poor little Budgie.  I’m really enjoying the tickets I’ve bought to the NAC (National Art Center).  Jan. 4th is the Shen Yun ballet which is supposed to be fabulous.  I know I haven’t yet posted about some of the incredible young people I met in Rapa Nui.  I haven’t forgotten and will try to do it (or at least start doing it) before 2014!  Happy New Year everyone!!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in home, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holidays!!

  1. Melanie says:

    Sounds very eventful! You are living a full life. I think that is funny about you losing a shoe size. I didn’t know that was possible. Melanie

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

