Catching Up!

Having a great time so far but have had trouble accessing secure sites (such as administration of my blog) on the internet.  I’ve sent the following as an email to people I know are following my blog; for others here is what you’ve missed.
It was a very long flight (9 hours) from Mexico City to Santiago, Chile and we lost 3 hours along the way.  We left about 7:15 pm Mexico time (having gained 2 hours on theme flight from Montreal) and had dinner on the flight.  Then they woke us up at 2:30 Mexican time to give us breakfast and we landed 1 hour later to find that it was 6:30 am in Santiago.  After paying a fee to enter the country, we spent almost an hour in line to go through Immigration after which we had to find our bags and go through Customs.  Then we had about an hour before it was time to get on the plane to Rapa Nui.  My ticket had no gate marked on it and a man who didn’t speak English saw my seat number on my ticket and insisted it was the gate and sent me there.  I went but there was no-one there (which I expected) and I headed back, met a lady I had seen at the baggage drop-off for the LAN flight to Easter Island and went with her to the correct gate.
The lady sitting beside me on huge flight had considered going on the Earthwatch projects to Crow Canyon and Easter Island but had decided “no” for Colorado and “yes” to Easter Island but not with Earthwatch.  She would spend a few days here and then go to the Lake District, then go on a bike tour into Argentina.  She lives in Hawaii.  I gave her my card.
About an hour out from Rapa Nui, I started looking for it, forgetting about the time change. (Yes, another one.)  I imagined land where there was only clouds and couldn’t help thinking about Amelia Earhart and Noonan flying around trying to find that speck of an island they were supposed to refuel on.  I remembered the time change and went back to my book for another 3/4 of an hour.  I did get some pictures a we flew into Rapa Nui but will eventually get them on my blog site.
Met another Earthwatch person at the Rapa Nui airport and his luggage was lost.  Found the driver of the van for the Earthwatch team and he is Francisco, the husband of the archaeologist, Sonia Cardinali.  They are a very nice couple and he had already met the other 2 people on our expedition.  We got settled into our hotel and Sonia & Francisco live right next door as Sonia’s family owns the hotel.  We have all our meals (breakfasts & dinners) at their house and make our lunches there to take with us to the site/work.  The first two days we were all at the archaeological site mapping and positioning all the features.  It is quite amazing!  The grass had been about 3 feet high and when the “cowboys” cut it, all kinds of interesting features were found including a Mano (grinding stone), the outline of “boat” houses (boat-shaped outlines of homes which defines their period), and fireplaces, and water springs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, Earthwatch, retirement, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catching Up!

  1. Pingback: ” Easter Islands Unique Statues” | Ace History News

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

