Oh, Canada!

As much as I enjoyed the wide open spaces and sparsely covered mesas of the southwestern United States, there was something warm and comforting about driving through the fall-coloured forested hills of Pennsylvania. When I got up this morning in Bradford, PA there was a slight fog over the highest parts of the mountains.

It’s funny how some of the states don’t acknowledge your arrival or departure and others make a big splash to make you feel welcome. I had no idea when I crossed into Oklahoma nor was I aware upon leaving it except for the big blue archway across the whole highway as I entered Missouri welcoming me. Today, I had no idea when I crossed from Pennsylvania into New York State. It was a fairly short trip; just a 3-hour drive to Dundas and not much in the way of traffic. I had a really strong urge since last night some time to greet the Canadian Customs official with a “Hi honey, I’m home!” but he was very young and obviously took his job seriously, so I kept a grip on myself and just answered his questions. I’d love to show you pictures of the Pennsylvania hillsides but alas, I don’t take pictures while driving.

Off to dinner with Dad, David, & Kate.  A few days of rest, and then I’ll be heading home to Ottawa.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

