Missouri, Again!

image I am safely ensconced in a cool motel in Springfield, Missouri called Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven.  I’m going to show you some neat pictures, but first: Oklahoma.  I went in one end of Oklahoma today and out the other.  The driving was pretty good and I didn’t get over tired at all.  It was a very pleasant day.  If you’ve ever thought you’d like to do a road trip through the state of Oklahoma to see one or more of the 200 museums or the Tulsa Aquarium or the Oklahoma City Zoo, next summer might be the perfect time to do that — they seem to be improving almost all of their highways right now so they should be in perfect shape by next summer.  What a lot of slow downs!!  Anyway, I’m here now and things are looking good to be in Pittsburgh by Thursday night instead of Friday noon. I’ll check out my next stop after I finish this blog entry. When I stopped in Springfield, Illinois on my way out to Crow Canyon, I picked up a little Route 66 pin for my hat and thought, wouldn’t it be great sometime to drive from Illinois to California along the old Route 66!  Then, as my trip continued, I learned that the highway featured in that old 50’s series had been decommissioned although some parts of it seem to be around still and there is a lot of memorabilia and souvenir mugs etc. everywhere I’ve travelled.  I haven’t picked up anything other than the pin yet but I’ve certainly been considering it.  Here at the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, the friendly staff member behind the front desk gave me a Route 66 key chain and I’ve bought 2 postcards to send.  I’m in a very nice room (king size) with a TV that didn’t take me more than just a few minutes to figure out.  Their remote control is called a “Clean Remote” — it’s designed to be easy to clean and disinfect.  And of course, there is free Wi-Fi!  Here are some pictures.

This is Ms. M., on the road on Route 66!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missouri, Again!

  1. Gloria Robinson says:

    Hi Lorraine. You sound as if you are having a wonderful time. The students that you are going to be speaking to when you get home are in for a real treat. Take care. Gloria Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 01:11:11 +0000 To: glojo@sympatico.ca

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

