Amarillo, Texas

Had a lovely continental breakfast again this morning at The Silver Saddle, loaded up the car, sent off some postcards, and hit the road.  I lost an hour crossing into Texas, although I was surprised at how much of New Mexico I had to go through to get there.  I had bought a nice little sticker for my car window in Durango, Colorado and everywhere I went in New Mexico, I tried to find one with their sun emblem on it.  No-one had any car stickers.  Finally, when I stopped for gas at a trading post before Santa Rosa, I found a package of small stickers that had the flag.  It doesn’t say “New Mexico” and it probably isn’t as strong as the stickers that are meant for cars but if it comes off, I have 11 more in my purse.

Pretty uneventful drive today.  Still travelled through lots of mountains and mesas but I think I’m finally into more rolling plains.  We had clear, bright skies today and while the days start off cool, they warm up rather nicely.

I’m staying at a Comfort Inn & Suites tonight and was able to make use of the fitness room, the indoor swimming pool, and the hot tub.  I went out for dinner to a Mexican restaurant and have some left-overs to take in my cooler for lunch tomorrow (minus the spicy sauce).  I’ve answered all my emails and just have to do a survey for Crow Canyon online and I’ll be ready for a good night’s sleep. Not sure where I’m going to stop tomorrow night.  The original plan was Tulsa, Oklahoma but I may try to get a bit further than that.

This is Ms. M on the road in the Texas panhandle!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

