Santa Fe, New Mexico

Well, today didn’t exactly go according to plan.  It started off well.  I had most of my stuff in the car last night and almost all the rest in before breakfast.  I got up at the time I wanted, went to breakfast on time.  Then I started to clean the car off.  There was frost on top of another layer of frost.  I got in the car to let the warm air do its work on the windows.  I set up the GPS and wrote the mileage into my travel record book.  I got out to work on the windows again, forgetting that when I put the key in the starter and turned it, the doors automatically locked.  I shut the door and with that one move I put my schedule back an hour and a half.  First the very nice bus driver from the Houston group of grade 4s spent about half an hour with a couple of coat hangers.  Being a 2-door car with a covering edge over the windows, he was unsuccessful.  When I went to ask the cook about using a phone and a recommendation of a garage in Cortez, he insisted on calling his auto club and he signed the paper so it didn’t cost me anything.  When the tow truck driver opened my door, all the Earthwatch volunteers who were waiting for their 9 a.m. ride to the Durango airport cheered and clapped.  My plan had been to rush to Gallup, rush to the Petroglyph National Monument, rush to Santa Fe.  I figure I was being told to slow down so I eased off down the road and took my time.

I was a little disappointed when I got to Gallup, I found that the store I wanted to go to that I had bought from previously online, wasn’t open on the weekends.  I browsed through a lot of stores in the main drag but a lot of it was similar to things I have seen everywhere else.  One thing I did see that was rather neat was this wall mural on the outside of a building there.

image

I spent about an hour there and then headed off to Albuquerque and found my way to the Petroglyph National Monument.  It was some sort of special day, so there was no charge to enter the park.  I was able to go through two of the trails in Boca Negra Canyon before the park closed at 5 p.m.  There are actually over 20,000 petroglyphs throughout the West Mesa.  The petroglyphs are etched into the volcanic basalt rocks that are all over this escarpment.

Here is a photo of Albuquerque from the Petroglyph Park.

image

Although I was later getting in to Santa Fe than I had wanted, I was here before 6:30 p.m. and the motel, The Silver Saddle, is quite nice.  Very picturesque and clean.  I will take pictures tomorrow during the daylight.  I got unpacked, went for a brief drive around to get a bit oriented, picked up a few things at the local WalMart, and then had a late dinner in a little  diner-type place called Dino’s.  It isn’t particularly unique to New Mexico but it fit the bill for tonight.  A good soak in a hot bath, an old Bing Crosby movie on the tube while I do my blog, and a new book to start before bed.  A continental breakfast in the morning, and then the plan is to try to see the Georgia O’Keefe Museum and the Palace of the Governor’s Museum before heading up to Taos Pueblo where they are celebrating a special festival tomorrow. Maybe those plans will go a bit more smoothly than today’s did.  Anyway, it feels good to be in New Mexico and I’m looking forward to seeing it in the daylight!

Ms. M. on the road in New Mexico.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

