Incredible Day!

Today was an absolutely incredible day!  First, although we are having quite cool nights, the temperature went into the 70s (F) during the day and there was not a cloud anywhere in this southwest Colorado sky! image In addition to this, I found several nice artifacts today.  The first, I’ve taken 2 shots of so you can clearly see the curve which indicates this is part of a jar at the point where the base meets the neck.

I also found a 2nd piece which I have photographed in situ.

image

Something I found really interesting was when Michael found a rather large piece of charcoal and Shanna wrapped it up in a piece of string so that if it dries out and breaks apart, the folks in the lab will see how it went together and still be able to count rings and so forth.  It’s the white cotton ball  just inside the shadow of the “V”

image

Later in the day, a group of students that are here from Denver for the week came through the dig site to learn more about it.  Shanna explained to them about the kiva and showed them all the rocks that have been removed from the site and some of the pottery we have found.  They asked a lot of good questions and were really interested in everything they saw.  Afterwards, Shanna did a recap on video for me which I will post when I’ve figured out how to do that.  It’s on my “to do” list.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, architecture, Earthwatch, reading, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

