Four Corners Monument

Today was our day off as the folks who were here for only 1 week have left and the folks joining us for the 2nd week don’t arrive until late afternoon.  There was some things we could do as a group but I chose to get an early start and head over to Four Corners Monument.  It felt good to get out on the road again, listening to my music and just feeling a bit like a free spirit.  Rain was threatened for the day but after I did some housekeeping things in Cortez at the laundramat and WalMart, the sun came out and I really got a feel for where things are in this amazing, open countryside.  The highway forks about halfway to Four Corners and it’s about equal distance to to there or to Shiprock, New Mexico.  It was tempting to try to do both today but the sky was exhibiting a dual personality and I thought my focus should stay with the plan.

Four Corners Monument is where the 4 states of Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, & Utah meet and you can stand in all 4 states at once.  It’s in the middle of wide open spaces and the actual monument is surrounded by a row of concession stands, one in each state.  Each side has a kind of rock pulpit with a bit of a story and the name of the state it is standing in carved into it.  Some of the jewellry and souvenirs were similar to what you see everywhere and other boothes had really interesting items I hadn’t seen in other places. I picked up some small gift items, a 4 corners T-shirt for myself, and, as there were no food boothes open today, I headed back to Cortez and had a late lunch there.  Just as I parked the car, the rain started in earnest and didn’t let up until after supper.

We had a little welcome for our 3 new team members, dinner, and then some free time while the “newbies” had an introduction to Crow Canyon.  Tomorrow morning, they will have the workshops about artifacts and history that the “alumni” had last week while we get right on with our digs.  Everyone will be in the pits on Tuesday.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, retirement, road trip, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

