Chicago, Final Day

I can see that I could spend a whole week in Chicago and not get to do everything I’d like to do.  I haven’t done all I planned but I’m content with what I have done.  I did not get to the Robie House; Hyde Park is just too far out from the beaten track to have included it in my explorations today.  I took the El in easily, took a tour of the 1st floor of Macie’s which was basically men’s wear and ladies jewelry. Next I made my way to the Chicago Cultural Centre where, again, I just did the ground floor.  They have an interesting exhibit called Project Onward — paintings and sculptures done by handicapped young people.  They have an area that is a senior’s centre where people can sit and read or take part in free programs; there was a dance session going on while I was wandering around.

From there, I went to Millenium Park to see some of the sculptures, including “the bean” as it is known locally (Cloud Gate) which is not exactly at an entrance to the park which meant I had a bit of difficulty finding it even with directions from the Cultural Centre.  They have an amazing pavillion there for concerts, as well as a huge outdoor cafe and many sculpture gardens.

I came out of Millenium Park on Monroe St. and entered the Chicago Art Institute where I spent close to 2 hours going through a number of exhibits.  The Chagall American Windows are stunningly beautiful and I also went through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Art rooms.  It is quite impressive the number of artifacts that have been dug up whole — beautiful bowls, amphoras, and even mosaics with very little missing from them.  Coins from ancient Roman times with faces and one even with a small labyrinth on it. Blown glass work as well that is very delicate and beautiful.  I went through the Indian, Asian, Chinese, Japanese, N. American Indian, and African exhibits.  I was chiefly looking for some ornamental jade as the children in the book “The Wright 3” found but was disappointed in that one thing only.  I was especially interested to find many samples of bowls and baskets from the American southwest (most from a later time period than the dig I’ll be helping with) including some lovely black on black and another with paintings of macaw feathers in polychrome.

Before I left the Museum, I went to see the paperweight collection of Arthur Rubloff.  There were over 1000 of them in various sizes and shapes and I took some pictures for the blog.  I also spent some time in the Impressionist gallery.  My favourite is Monet but I took a number of pictures there as well.  I still haven’t figured out how to put videos in so will include a gallery again today.  I also took some pictures in the old Stock Exchange Trading floor.

I exited the Museum through the original entrance and crossed the street to Bennigan’s and ate at their patio where there was a nice breeze, glorious shade, ice cold water, and good food.

From there, I walked up Adams St. past the river and got some shots of some of the famous sculptures in “the loop” and stopped in at the Rookery to take some photos of more of Frank Lloyd Wright’s amazing designs.

Tomorrow, I’m off to Springfield, Ill. to see the only home that Abraham Lincoln ever owned and then I’ll continue to Columbia, Missouri , my next overnight stop on the road.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, architecture, retirement, road trip, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!