Chicago, Day 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I went to the church next door this morning for their 10 o’clock service.  First Baptist is a beautiful building and everyone was very friendly.  Because a piece of a brick had fallen from around a window earlier in the week, they held their service in the hall downstairs.  You could see some Frank Lloyd Wright touches done by the architect who was a follower of FLW’s — the grid work below the ceiling lights and around the windows.  They talked as though they had a struggling choir but there were about 40 of them who got up to sing and the acoustics in the hall were awesome.  They did a super job of 2 pieces.  The first I recognized, it was “Here We Come to Worship”; I didn’t know the other one but it was lovely.

I went to the National Mexican Art Museum after I had a bite to eat at the local Starbucks.  It was really interesting.  Their permanent collection included a truck with a lot of photos mounted in the back all about the Mexican Experience in the U.S.  They had photos of Che Guevara and farm workers included.  Many of the walls in the neighbourhood had murals painted on them and in the museum, their guest exhibit included several “graffiti” wall murals. I’m really glad I went.  Had to go today as it is closed on Mondays.

I took the El downtown but missed one and still thought I could make it to the Field Museum.  I shot a little video for you.  It was very sunny and I couldn’t see the screen very well so you only see part of my face but I’m going to include it anyway.

I got a chance to walk along the waterfront and was able to see the Buckingham Fountain before they closed the park to do some repairs.  I took a photo of a sculptured arch that says “Chicago Stock Exchange” to send to my Dad, and I have my card for the train for tomorrow and know how the El works.  Looking forward to touring the rest of the Loop tomorrow and doing some more museums and maybe a bit of shopping.

I haven’t figured out how to put my video in. I think I have to change its format and I had a lot of trouble with my Internet connection.  I will try later.  Tomorrow I’m back on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

