Fitness Update!

For those of you who haven’t followed the blog from the beginning, last winter was a very low period for me (weight-wise, it was very high); I was uncomfortable and unfit!  In mid-March, I started following a diet I had found through Pinterest called the 3-day diet.  Now, I know that to lose weight, give up smoking, start a fitness routine, you have to be ready.  Well, I was ready!!  Planning to retire and go on archaeological digs gave me a real focus and drive to lose weight and get fit.

So how am I doing?  Great! and I feel great, too.  I followed the diet assiduously from mid-March until mid-June and since then I’ve tried to eat sensibly, exercise, and continue tracking my progress.  There’s one breakfast from the diet that I really like (half a grapefruit, 1 slice of rye bread with 1 tbs of peanut butter and a cup of tea) that I continue to have almost every morning.  A lunch of crackers, cheese and fruit with tea that I also have quite often.  At dinner, I almost always have the dessert from the diet: 1/4 cup of low-fat vanilla ice cream with fruit.  For the rest, I try not to go overboard.  It’s a long time since I’ve eaten any french fries.

In late May, I started walking for about 40 – 60 minutes a day.  Soon, I was walking a lot further in an hour than I had been at first.  I started using the swings during outdoor gym for about 20 min. a time.  All summer, I’ve walked almost every day, sometimes 3 or 4 miles in about 60 – 75 minutes.  Sometimes, I do a workout in my basement and I try to do 20 min. of T’ai Chi every night before bed.  The results?  I’ve lost 38 lbs!  My original goal had been to lose 20 lbs but even now, I still have extra flab on my body that I’m not happy about.  I’ve had to replace a lot of my clothing but that’s been kind of fun.  I think I’m ready for my dig, to walk a few miles every day carrying a backpack and doing the work involved.  I couldn’t have done a dig a year ago — I wouldn’t have had the energy and I wouldn’t have had the ability.  Let’s face it, if you’re uncomfortable sitting at a desk, you’re going to be uncomfortable sitting on the ground digging or hiking over rough terrain.  Getting into shape has been a very positive experience for me and I’m really ready to get on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

