Four days to go!

The countdown is almost done and I confess I’m a little nervous about the possibility of forgetting something important.  Have to get an oil change today.  Got American money yesterday at the bank. Got my hair cut the day before.  I’ve taken tons of old technology to the recycle at Future Shop.  Got bird seed for Budge for the 5 weeks I’m away.  (He’ll be staying with my good friend Jane while I’m gone.)  I’ve ordered a bronze reproduction online of “The Cheyenne” by Remington to be picked up in Pittsburgh on the way home.  The clothes for getting there and back are all over my bed, sorted by colour. They’re getting rearranged and replaced several times a day.  The digs bags are already packed and ready to go.  Still have to air out the sleeping bags.  Better get to that today.

I’ve printed out a heading and map of the Southwest for my art journal (the HP air printer I bought from Apple online, I really like) and treated them with an acrylic spray to keep the ink from running in the event I may want to paint a wash over them.  The art journal was something I got interested in a few years ago as something to do in my classroom.  I hope I’ll have time to work in it on my trip and get some sketching and painting done in it.  I’m getting a head start on it.  I printed a map that shows the states around Colorado and I cut Colorado out.  I’ve sketched and coloured a mesa on the page and pasted the map over it so that the picture is where Colorado should be.  I did this sort of thing with my students last spring using designs where a continent should be and they turned out really well.  It was one of many great ideas I’ve found on Pinterest.  I hope I’ll get lots of beautiful photos on the trip that I can upload and share, especially under Photography, Faces, Doors and, of course, Frank Lloyd Wright.

image

Be sure to watch the pages in my Places to Eat series for delicious meals in Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. As we used to say at school, only 4 more sleeps ’till I’m on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, technology, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

