8 Days To Go!

Pinch me, please!  I still can’t believe I’m retired, let alone going on a road trip to Colorado to work on a dig!  My backpack for the dig is all packed except for the camera and my clothing for the dig is packed in my small suitcase.  I’m still dithering about what I’ll need for the rest of the trip.  I guess I won’t be wearing white since it will be after Labour Day, although I’ve never bothered with such conventions in the past.  Santa Fe and Denver are over 6000 ft. high (which I didn’t know until recently) so there will likely be very warm daytime temperatures but cooler evenings.  I don’t need to be dressy on days I’m just driving but will want something nice to wear to dinner when I’m staying over and sight seeing.  I’m sure it will all come together.  Two tops for every pr. pants and short and long pants for every top.

Today I go to get my shots and they will be good for the US and Easter Island.  The only thing left will be the rabies shots which I will start in October as they require 3 shots 1 week apart.  Don’t really like needles but then, I don’t pass out either so I’ll be fine!

Still have projects to do around the house but things are coming along, however slowly.  The weather has been quite dull lately which leaves me rather uninspired.  Hopefully today will be better since I have to get out and get going early.

ipadkeyboard

I’ve been trying to decide what equipment to take with me since my laptop died.  I have an older one which works well enough but is slow and a bit on the heavy side.  I have an ipad and I’m thinking that might work if I get a keyboard and case to use with it so that I can keep my blog going and Skype the folks at home, etc.  I’ve been online quite a bit since yesterday looking at different kinds of keyboard cases and reviews of the so-called “best” of them.  A lot of the write-ups don’t give the information I need, such as how many keys and are there keyboard shortcuts?   Does the case have a lithium rechargeable battery?  I need to have this by Friday so I’m wary about buying online in case it doesn’t arrive in time.  There’s an online company here in Ottawa but they want to charge me $10. to ship it across town!!  I looked in WalMart last night but they have a limited range of products compared to what they have online and what they have are not necessarily the ones that are getting raves online.  Amazon.ca had one I liked however it doesn’t ship from them but rather through a 3rd party.  If they were shipping, I’d know it would arrive on time; the 3rd party?? I don’t know.  I have reserved one at Best Buy and will see it after I get my shots.  Any input from you tech-savvy folks out there?  Suggestions welcome!  What keyboard for my ipad should I take with me on the road?

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement, road trip, technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

