Time Flies

I don’t know where the time has gone.  A familiar saying but so often true.  My brother is home from his singing tour of England and I’m on my way home.  A little detour:  I had to take two boxes of books collected by my grade 5 students (from 2 years ago) to send to the students at the school in Attawapiskat.  The only way I could find to get them there was to deliver them to Bearskin Airlines in North Bay to be sent to Creebec Air in Timmins and from there they go to Attawapiskat.  My students thought that these new and gently-used books would be a way of helping the children in this northern native village who have so little and do their schooling in a portable.  To find out more, check out Shannen’s Dream!

North Bay isn’t exactly on the way from Dundas to Ottawa so I’m staying over in Huntsville, Ontario, in the Muskoka area.  Lots of artisan shops on the main drag and souvenir shops.  There is locally made ice cream and beer available and lots of nice places to eat, some of them right on the waterfront.  (Check out my latest Eating on the Road: Cottage Waterfront Grill!) Many beautiful old stone buildings.

Bridge in the center of town.

Bridge in the center of town.

Along Highway 11 there are lots of natural rock formations and people have made small Innuksuks on top of them, in some places, as many as 20 in a row.  Don’t know the story behind them — this isn’t exactly Inuit country.

Field of innukshuks leading to hockey place

Field of innukshuks leading to hockey place (Photo credit: plind)

Tomorrow I’ll be home with just 4 weeks until I head out again — this time on the big road trip I’ve been planning for so long.  Lots to do before I get out on the road again!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

