Staying in Shape

Gym at Work 3

Gym at Work 3 (Photo credit: The Killer Biscuit)

At home, I not only walk every morning, I have a bit of a workout gym in my basement, so being away from home has been cutting into my efforts to get into shape for my archaeological digs.  When I’ve been out walking around Dundas, I kept noticing this Anytime Fitness gym about a block and a half from my Dad’s place.  Saturday afternoon I went down to get some information and guess what!  They offer a one-week free trial membership.  The only hitch is that when you actually join, you can go anytime, 24/7; with the free trial, you have to go when the gym is staffed.  This is a great boon.  I’m wondering how many places back home offer the same deal.  Anyway, today I went for the first time.  It was very cool!  Many of the machines have little scan squares that you can snap with your smart phone and get videos of the kind of workout you can do on that machine.  Great idea!  Some of them, like the treadmills and bike, have on-screen TV and you can take your headphones and listen and watch while you work out.  Tomorrow, I take my iphone and headset with me.  This is luxury staying in shape on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Health, retirement, road trip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

