Week 3 of Retirement!

Summer brings all kinds of challenges, especially when I’ve done little in the back yard over the past 3 years and the weather is very hot and very humid as it has been for the last 2 weeks.

 

Go Green is not just a slogan but should be a way of life for those of us who care about the future of this planet for the coming generations.  In addition to gardening, I’ve been working on cleaning up the basement and garage and came across a print out of a piece that was going around the Internet a number of years ago called “God wants to know how you manage your garden and lawn!”  Or, the shorter title, “Dumb and Dumber!”  I’m attaching it here if you don’t remember it.

 

So the garden:  overgrown and full of weeds.  The lawn:  bare patches and full of weeds.  The composter:  very awkward to get at and not full of weeds or soil at this point.  As this is a condominium, the lawn gets cut for us but there has to actually be a lawn for it to look nice.  I’ve spent the last several days taking out weeds and bagging them to be hauled away, turning over all the bare patches, and straightening the nice, red border stone strips I have around the edges of the garden.  I’ve tidied up the small plastic garden shed and moved it to a corner of the deck away from the composter to make both more accessible, and yesterday I put down grass seed over about a third of the yard that was the worst and has now all been turned over and I took out the hose and watered.

 

I also put together a new tumbling composter which is smaller than the old one but will be more manageable and may actually make rich soil faster.  A friend was telling me about one her husband was using in their backyard and it sounded great.  I had a neighbour years ago who also had a tumbling composter and he swore by it.  So I looked at the instructions, assembled the stand, and started patiently attaching each of the 8 sections, one to the other.  I think my main mistake was doing it indoors; it made it tricky to get it outside and their was a breeze outside and none in the house.  Very important:  if you buy one of these (available in many outlets in Canada and the U.S.; also in various sizes) notice that the edges on the side panels are not all equal.  One of them has a different set of holes that work only with the panel with the sliding door.  Once I realized this, it was clear sailing.  I dumped everything out the bottom of the old composter and transfered what seemed to be working into the new one and put the old plant stalks (which looked like they were exactly as they had when put in many years ago) into the yard waste bag.  So things are starting to look better and more manageable.  Here are some photos of the old composter, the new composter, and part of the garden.  You can see the bare patches that are now seeded, the raspberry canes in the garden, and my new, slimmer shadow on the old composter:

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

By tonight, I should be ready to put out lots of yard waste, garbage from the basement, recycle from everywhere, and get Budge settled at a friend’s house so that I am all set in the morning to head to my Dad’s place.  Must put my new plate sticker on the car and download the latest maps to my GPS so Dad and I can go adventuring.  Looking forward to hooking up with some family cousins along the way as well.  Next post will be from the road! 

 

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in gardening, retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

