Week 1 Gone

I don’t know where the week has gone, but it has!  I got all my appointments done (renewal of health card, drivers license, plate sticker), went to the dentist, picked up the 2nd water bottle I bought online from Factory Direct for my digs, put all the recycle, yard waste and garbage out, had some massage therapy after all the work I’ve been doing, lost 2 more pounds, bought a new washing machine (to be delivered next week), finished reading another mystery story, took an afternoon to spend with 2 colleagues (1 who, like me, has just retired), spent some time on Skype with my brother and my dad, and am heading out to dinner and a movie tonight with another friend.  So I guess I’ve had a successful 1st week of retirement!

This morning, I’ve spent a bit of time updating my calendar with all the events, stop overs, and appointments for the next 5 months and printed them out so I can clearly see where I’ve booked hotels/motels for my road trip and where I still need to book.  I’ve also changed my mind (again) about the 2nd to last stop before the 1st dig and so sometime in the next month and a half I will need to print out new directions and map and book a few more overnight spots as I have only the 1st and last spots out and back booked.  A few blanks still to fill in then.  Decided to go to Denver and spend 1 night and move on to either Pueblo or Colorado Springs  before heading on to Durango.  Haven’t checked out places to stay in either spot yet.  Will wait to get an email from Bookings.com.  Anyone out there got a recommendation?  Have to remember to check that they take American Express so I can chalk up air miles when I stay over.

Off to work now.  Have a lot of tidying up to do to clear space for the washer to come in on Tuesday and for the old one to go out!  Week and a half and I’ll be heading off on the road to Dad’s!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

