First and Last

In the past few years, I have taken members of my school chess club to a board-wide tournament held at another school at the other end of the city. This year, because of actions taken by the union in protest of the government’s stripping away of teacher’s right to strike, sick leave days, retirement gratuities, etc., clubs were not run from December until mid-March. As a result, the regular tournament was not held in March. My students, being very disappointed, asked me if we couldn’t hold one here so I contacted some schools in our area and had a positive response from one.

After much back and forth communication, our school is hosting a tournament which will take place on Tuesday next. This will be the first time I have organized a tournament and I must admit I’m a bit nervous about it. However, I have our teams made up, have the names of the teams from the other school, and, having completed a round robin with my club last week, I feel that it will work out quite well. I’ve posted the teams on our team board and the students are very excited to see who made the teams and they are already thinking about how to be good hosts. So this will be my first and last school tournament. I too am excited about doing this before I retire and get on the road.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

