A funny thing . . .

A funny thing happened on the way to . . . the retirement party tonight.  Everything was going smoothly.  I got away from school not long after chess club finished, headed home, showered, changed, checked on the Internet where the party was being held, and left in good time.  Well, I made a wrong turn and realized it in short order.  I pulled over to check on my GPS and before I finished, a car wanted out of the driveway I was blocking.  So, there was a church parking lot behind me and to my right and I thought I’d just back into it.  Well, I couldn’t see the entrance but I could see a nice wide parking lot.  Next thing I knew I was in the ditch.  Tried to get out and couldn’t.   Someone stopped and took a good look and suggested I was going to need a tow truck.  Searched my purse where I thought I had the info for my Canadian Tire Road Assistance.  Wasn’t there.  So I called directory assistance and they gave me the number.  Had to call them twice as I couldn’t get it all punched in fast enough.  Forty-five minute wait.

I was surprised, pleasantly, at how many kind people stopped to see if I was alright, ask if they could help, or offered to make a call for me.  Two tow trucks stopped before mine came but I waited patiently.  A very nice police person (out of uniform, therefore on her own time) stopped to make sure I wasn’t injured.  She offered to wait with me.  I declined.  (I couldn’t get out of the car safely.)  She offered to go to the reception and tell one of my friends who were all waiting there to celebrate with me that I was delayed but alright.  She said it was on her way.  So I gave her the information and off she went.  Several more people stopped to check on me.

A little while later, the constable came back and offered to take me to the party if the tow truck would just leave the car in the parking lot for me to pick up later.  I thought I should wait with it in case there was damage and when I came back for it later it might not run.  I thanked her again.  Shortly after that, the tow truck came, hooked me up, pulled me out, I signed the paper, and headed off in the right direction.

When I arrived, there was great relief expressed by the greeters at the door who pinned a corsage on me, took my things off to my table, and bustled me into 2nd position in the M to Z line that was about to head in and be presented with their certificates.  I was introduced with the whole story and everyone cheered as I walked in smiling and waving as instructed.  Friends snapped pictures and I joined them at the table where they had assembled a plate of food for me.  I was in time for a wonderful speech from another retiring teacher.  My colleagues and I laughed and applauded and had a wonderful time.

Lessons learned:  I now have my Road Assistance number in my iPhone.  I’m reminded I should keep my cushion blanket in the car year round (it’s getting pretty cold and damp these days with all the rain we’ve been having). I really need to be careful backing up to the right because my trunk is quite high and blocks quite a bit of the road.  All excellent reminders before I head out for the real adventures on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

