Fit to Go

Even though the dig in Colorado is rated “easy”, I have recognized the need to get myself in better condition before it’s time to go.  Those extra pounds one puts on over the winter months were really getting me down; I didn’t want to carry the extra weight and I wanted my clothes to be comfortable.  I also realized that I have to work on improving my agility.

English: Outdoor practice in Beijing's Temple ...

English: Outdoor practice in Beijing’s Temple of Heaven. Polski: Ćwiczenia taijiquan w Pekinie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started out with T’ai Chi before bedtime for limbering up and relaxing for a good night’s sleep.  Then, I started a 3-day diet I found through Pinterest.  This has been a wonderful boon. It’s basically eating healthier, eating less and feeling really good about it. I started in March, set my goal for 20 lbs. and I’m almost there.  After the first two weeks (and after the snow had almost gone), I started walking.  First on weekends, over to my school and home again.  (Three times Easter weekend.)  Now that my time has improved on this little run, I’m making the route longer.  The next step will be riding my bike several times a week. Then, I should be all set to get into the garden which will be excellent prep for going to the dig.

You don’t have to be going to a dig to want to start feeling better heading into the summer. So if the winter months took their toll on your fitness, try some of these tips to get yourself fit to go!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, Health, retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

