Some of the Little Things

In the past, my traveling hasn’t always been well planned. It’s been more of a hurry up, get going, home to visit family, kind of traveling.  Usually, at the beginning of a school break where I’ve been really busy up to the last moment.  One March break, I even got in the car and headed off thinking I’d done really well getting everything together, only to arrive and have to head shopping before the stores closed because I’d left my bag with all my clothes at home!  If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that remembering the little things is what is important!

fallingwater (autumn ed.)

fallingwater (autumn ed.) (Photo credit: happy via)

So having a fair bit of lead time before my first “dig” vacation should improve my planning and let me head off knowing everything is under control.  I’ve got appointments made, prescriptions automated, road maps printed out (although I’ve changed my routes a few times already; better now than on the road, right?), and I’ve even booked a number of motels/hotels, as well as my ticket for the tour of Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright house in Mill Run, Pennsylvania, near the end of my trip.

I’ve picked up quite a bit of reading to help me prepare for my trip to Crow Canyon. You know how annoying it can be sometimes when you’re browsing on line and they make suggestions for you?  Will this time, one paid off:  House of Rain.  I never would have picked up on this having anything to do with Four Corners (the area where the 4 states of Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, & Utah meet) from the title. The subtitle is “Tracking a Vanished Civilization Across the American Southwest” and it is all about the Anasazi of of the American Southwest.  The author, Craig Childs, has written other books, is a naturalist and adventurer, and lives in the West Elk Mountains of Colorado.

Basketmaker III Basket grca 67879-01  Grand Ca...

Basketmaker III Basket grca 67879-01 Grand Canyon Nat. Park (Photo credit: Grand Canyon NPS)

While this doesn’t directly have to do with the dig at Crow Canyon (which is about the ancient Basketmakers III) it is a topic which has fascinated me for some time and I will be traveling into that area while I’m there. I say, the more knowledge I have, the better.

I’ve also just got An Archaeological Guide to Ancient Ruins of the Southwest by David Grant Noble which will have more specific information about the Crow Canyon area.  It has lots of interesting photos to go with the text and I’m looking forward to getting into it soon.

Speaking of photos, I’ve talked about Ansel Adams but another photographer whose work I really admire is Marilyn Bridges.  Her work is almost exclusively aerial photography and she has captured the essence of many ancient structures and hieroglyphs around the world.  My favourite work by her is called Sacred and Secular which is both a book and a CD.  You can find lots of her photos online. She likes to get into small planes with the doors removed so she can lean out and get better shots!  Check her out.

By the way, I’ve added a new page, Reading on the Road.  It will be a parent page for future thoughts about inspirational reading along the way.  I hope it will inspire you to take a good book and get out on the road!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, lit inspired, reading, retirement, road trip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

