On the Road with Ansel Adams

English: A photo portrait of photographer Anse...

English: A photo portrait of photographer Ansel Adams, which first appeared in the 1950 Yosemite Field School yearbook. Deutsch: Portrait des Fotografen Ansel Adams, erstmals 1950 im Jahrbuch der Yosemite Field School erschienen. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know when it was that I fell in love with the photography of Ansel Adams.  I think the first time I ever looked at a print of one of his southwest pueblo shots was while rummaging through a large bin of photos at the local Michaels store and I couldn’t put it down.  Now I have several of his prints, a large coffee table book, and I’ve textured my dining room and kitchen walls so they look like the outside of a pueblo and think that’s a fine setting to show off his prints.  One of the side benefits of this trip to Colorado will be to visit many of the places that Adams photographed for his mural project.  I’ve done a fair bit of reading about him and his work and spent countless hours pulling up his photos on the Internet.  If I ever get to Washington, D.C. again I’m going to make an appointment to go into the Department of the Interior to see the mural project mounted on the walls of the first and second floor corridors as the artist/photographer had originally envisioned.  In the meantime, I’ll be looking forward to seeing for real the places he went in Mesa Verde and the Santa Fe area and taking pictures of my own (which won’t be anywhere near as good) which will be a great memory of my trip and my own personal tribute to an amazing photographer.

Cliff dwellings, "Mesa Verde National Par...

Cliff dwellings, “Mesa Verde National Park,” Colorado, “1941.”, 1941 – NARA – 519943 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in retirement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

