Planning My First Dig

Well, I’ve been very busy planning my first dig expedition.  I’ve been accepted for two weeks of volunteering at the Crow Canyon Archaeological Center in Colorado in September.  I have my maps all set with hotel bookings along the way in Chicago, Durango, and Santa Fe (although I will need more as the time gets closer) and I have purchased a travel guide for Chicago and one for the Santa Fe, Taos, and Albuqurque area.  It’s going to be quite the road trip and I can hardly contain my excitement. The Crow Canyon dig is part of the Earth Watch expeditions which are many and varied — archaeological expeditions, climate change studies, animal adaptations, and reforestation, an expedition in Easter Island which sounds absolutely fascinating.  But I digress. I’ll be starting and ending my road trip in Dundas, where my father lives, to spend a bit of time with him and share my excitement.  If working on a dig sounds like something you’d like to do, check out Earth Watch. You’ll be amazed at the opportunities!  Catch the spirit!!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in archaeology, road trip. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planning My First Dig

  1. Hello , you are good writer, i love your site
    Boxing odds

  2. mysm2000 says:

    Glad you liked it, Jane!

  3. jane MacLean says:

    AWESOME!

I love reading comments so please leave a reply!

